The old farm that houses the Musée Rural (litteraly Rural Musem) was built by the Abbey of Bellelay in 1600.
Today, the farm still features some elements of the original construction, such as an impressive vaulted kitchen with a floor in clay, a stable, a winding stair made of stone, two woody rooms on the first floor and a cellar on the backside of the building.
The room of the farm is exclusively covered with shingle, which makes the building unique in the Swiss Jura.
This room was the bedroom but also the workshop of a well-known watchmaker called Léon Voirol (1900-1977). He assembled movements and watch components and worked in front of this window in order to benefit of the best sun light. On his desk, we can see all the instruments and tools used by the watchmaker in the 1930. In 1905, the village of Les Genevez had a population of 700 residents (today around 550) and about 100 of them worked as independent watchmakers during the harsh winter months. In summer, the watchmakers were breeding their cattles in the fields surrounding Les Genevez.